Location: 864 Smith Lane Fallston, MD 21047 See on map Interactive Map Quilt Pattern name: Lost Geese Colors: Pink, Light Blue and Dark Blue Owner(s) Name: Harford County Government - Parks and Recreation Artist(s) Name: Designer - Kathy Burley; Painters - multiple Harford County Parks and Recreation staff and family Actual Location of Barn Quilt on Farm/Building: On the green barn located past the playground and past the house. Originally owned by Samuel Calwell, a prominent local citizen and signer of the Bush Declaration, this farm has been farmed since the late 1600’s. Purchased by Harford County, it is now home to many recreational opportunities including a trail head of the Ma & Pa Trail, Annie’s Playground, soccer and lacrosse fields, a climbing wall and ropes course, and a bike course. Much of the property’s 240 acres remains leased to crop farmers.
Location: 401 Oakington Road Havre de Grace, MD 21078 See on map Interactive Map Website: http://www.swanharborfarm.org/ Quilt Pattern name: Paul Revere's Ride Colors: Red, White and Blue Owner(s) Name: Harford County Government - Parks and Recreation Artist(s) Name: Painted by Parks and Recreation staff and volunteers Actual Location of Barn Quilt on Farm/Building: Red Barn in the auxiliary parking lot facing Maryland Agricultural Education Foundation building Situated on over five hundred acres, Swan Harbor Farm, a stately home on the Chesapeake Bay, boasts a long and proud history. In the 1700’s, the home was owned by several generations of the Giles family. The most significant owner, however, was John Adlum. Mr. Adlum purchased the farm from Thomas Giles in 1797. From Swan Harbor Farm, John Adlum pioneered wine making in Maryland. In 1809, Mr. Adlum sent a bottle of his fine burgundy to his good friend, Thomas Jefferson. Mr. Jefferson was so impressed with the quality of the wine that he ordered 165 cuttings from Adlum’s vines to be planted at Monticello. After the Adlum era [...]
Location: 1617 Eden Mill Rd, Pylesville, MD 21132 See on map Interactive Map Quilt Pattern name: Mill Wheat Colors: Pale Yellow, Green and White Owner(s) Name: Harford County Government - Parks and Recreation Artist(s) Name: Aimee Dunn Actual Location of Barn Quilt on Farm/Building: On the red barn, facing the nature center and mill parking lot. Nestled in the Deer Creek valley, Eden Mill has stood since approximately 1798. Local farmers brought their wheat, corn, and other grain to the grist mill to be ground into flour, meal, and feed. In 1964, the mill closed its doors due to changing technology and aging equipment. Today, Eden Mill is a mill museum and nature center surrounded by 118 acres of park land! Please take time to “mill around” and see all that Eden Mill has to offer!